What to wear and what to take.

Enough gear for 16 days riding

Enough gear for 16 days riding

The winter through 2012/2013 has been very cold and we have got used to cycling in a lot of gear. I will be taking plenty of thermals, long trousers, and a big jacket. This together with double gloves, buff, beanie for under my helmet, and overshoes should keep out the worst of the weather.  The extra thermals will double up as evening wear. I might take some shorts.

The gear will go into Ortlieb backroller panniers and an Ortlieb front box mounted on the handlebars.

We will just get food as we go along.  We will not be cooking anything.  I find a steady input of carbs and protein while cycling works and I eat dried fruit and nuts through the day, also usually with a sandwich at some point. I will start each day with 150ml of fluid.  By preference this will be Powerade but squash with some salt and sugar in it works nearly as well.  I always like to be well hydrated so the bottles will be topped up at every opportunity. It’s good to get a banana and a pint of milk as soon as possible after finishing and a decent meal in the evening.  I am not great at breakfast but have promised to try harder.  I do not eat meat.

We will be carrying enough spares and tools to keep us going.  Up until Oban we will be able to access bike shops but after that we have to be completely self sufficient. We will have spokes and chain repair links, a multi tool as well as a small track pump and several spare tubes. I am also taking a carbon dioxide gas tyre inflator.  The Garmin 800 and the pre-prepared maps from a road atlas are our navigation tools.

Phone, Ear plugs, sudocream, insect repellent, passport, credit card and a Dorset flag!  That’s about it.

7 thoughts on “What to wear and what to take.

  1. Ian

    Are you planning to post your gpx/tcx route online? Having done the JOGLE myself a few months ago, I’m interested in the routing choices you’re making, especially in the parts of the country you know well. Ian

    Reply
  2. Barbara

    I will publish the GPX files if I can work out how to do it. I just use Garmin to plan my courses. It seems to do the job quite well. I am spending quite a lot of time looking at the detail of the route on the maps and google earth to avoid those annoying off course bleeping moments that I seem to get when I have put a course into the device without thoroughly checking it through. I hope you are back riding OK and your Garmin has recovered. I was expecting it to be waterproof but clearly I cannot rely on that. Do you think the silicone cover you can get will help?

    Reply
  3. Ian

    I probably complain too much. Last year I did over 7,500 miles with the Garmin, often in foul weather, and only had water issues a couple of times. I imagine those covers would help but I resent having to buy one. OTOH, my Garmin has now stopped mounting on my computer again and I’ll almost certainly end up buying an 810, which has few new features that I want.
    Your time spent looking at maps and google earth will be well spent. The occasional Off Course warning, even when you’re on course, is inevitable. I recall having a couple on my first day across the top of Scotland, when I needed to get the map pages I’d brought with me out to confirm that I was right and the Garmin was misbehaving.
    The Garmin is still great though and it’s all part of the adventure.

    Reply
    1. Barbara

      I only got my Garmin 800 in November 2012 though I have run with a simpler GPS for years. The first Edge only lasted 2 weeks as it somehow jumped off the handlebars and got run over by a lorry. Very sad. Garmin UK were excellent and the replacement was just over £100. It may be worth having a chat with them about years.

      I am quite clumsy with stuff so the Silicone cover was a must. I don’t know how much help it would be to prevent water ingress. Also, my silicone cover has split. I repaired it with neoprene glue .

      I love maps so its no hardship to spend time checking the detail of the route. We are taking paper maps from a road atlas. I find it tends to be the more urban areas that are more difficult to navigate through.

      As part of my per E2E build up I am planning to do a couple of Audax permanents and one of today’s jobs is to put the course into the device. One of them is 200k from Honiton. It goes up to the North Somerset coast

      Reply
      1. Ian

        Isn’t that the Valley of the Rocks audax and isn’t it today? That’s a great route. I wish I were doing it instead of temporarily out of action with my back taped up.
        Must catch up with Steve. I knew he was looking in West Bay to supplement his ice cream van and cafe.

      2. Barbara

        Valley of the Rocks is today. I see on FB that only 25 riders started. I never intended to do it as this weekend was scheduled to be 2 days rough water training with IoPCC (www.iopcc.org) but its too windy for that. It’s one I would like to do in the future though.

        The permanents are Sea and Levels 150k or 200k which goes from Lyme Regis to Clevedon (200k) or Cheddar 150k and the Coast Roads and Coach Roads 100km which start in Honiton and goes to Sidmouth and Crewkerne.

        Hope your back recovers soon.

  4. Ian

    I didn’t know about the permanents. Very interesting idea, and good routes. Thanks for the pointer. The only audax I’ve done myself was the Glastonbury 100 miler a couple of years ago; it was fun. I’ve always intended to do others but not yet got round to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

