Fill That Hole

Today was very windy with frequent heavy showers. I decided a short ride was in order and set out along the B3157 which was blissfully empty as it is closed until March 28th.

The empty B3157 coast road

The empty B3157 coast road


Living almost at sea level it is usually uphill and this was no exception.  The wind had plenty of South in it and knocked me sideways regularly.  From Abbotsbury I left the village up Bishops Road.

I have recently downloaded the Fill That Hole App onto my phone. I found some wonderful potholes to try it out on.

Local councils have a duty to maintain the roads, but they can only fill a pothole if they know about it. If you want it repaired, you have to report it.

Fill That Hole is the easy way to report potholes and road defects. They contact the right people to get the roads repaired. Councils are generally quick to respond. There are league tables on the website which shows that Dorset, Devon and Somerset are not very good at repairing potholes and Dorset currently is only fixing about 20% of reported hazards. I added my report from my phone which can be seen here. There is endless scope here for themed Audax events!

However , there was no ignoring the hill ahead, about 1.5km with 170m of ascent – one of those that gets steeper and steeper towards the top. I call it Lime Kiln Hill as there is a lime kiln just where the steepest section starts.

The lime kiln

The lime kiln

My images from the top show the rough weather and the hill but also the extent of the lovely Dorset countryside peeling away to the sea down at Portland Bill.

Lime Kiln Hill

Lime Kiln Hill

Views to Portland

Views to Portland

My high point was Admiral Hardy’s Monument at 240m.

Admiral Hardy’s Monument

Admiral Hardy’s Monument

At this point I had ridden 15km but with 500m of elevation.  That is twice the AAA rate of climb.  Good preparation for my January AAA which I think I’ll do on Sunday as the weather is looking as if it might be dry and not quite so windy.

The sky was stormy and there were showers all around but I was lucky and escaped them. I headed across the A35 and onto the Roman Road.  There were several followers  of the Cattistock Hunt around and a few horses appearing in dribs and drabs.

The Hunt

The Hunt

It looked like the fox had escaped them today.  (Silly me – of course they are not hunting the fox – it’s illegal)  Once more across the A35 and down White Way Hill into a very wet Bride Valley

The Bride Valley

The Bride Valley

and back to Burton Bradstock to news of yet another huge cliff fall.

Cliff fall at Burton Bradstock Beach

Cliff fall at Burton Bradstock Beach

When it’s wet and windy its quite hard getting out on the bike.  I really enjoyed my ride today and the weather was kind to me while I was out. It was quite a short ride – only 40km – but the 800 m of ascent made it a decent work out.

Leave a Reply

