Torplex 200km

This Torplex 200km Audax event runs alongside the Devon Delight 100k. They are organised by Graham Brodie with Devon CTC. The organisation is excellent and the event runs like a well oiled machine.

Sunday 20th July was warm and sunny and 25 or so riders set off from the Pro Cycle Centre at Newton Abbot.

The Start at Newton Abbot

The Start at Newton Abbot


It was quite a swift ride over the initial lumps and bumps to the control at 42km: the morning coffee stop at Stoke Canon. There was a lovely spread of food provided at the village hall. Lots of cake!

Cake stop at Stoke Canon

Cake stop at Stoke Canon

After Stoke Canon I chose the flatter alternative along the B3181 to Cullompton and then to the info control at Willand before heading West through a very pretty route on small lanes to Butterleigh and the Exe crossing Thorverton.

Thorverton

Thorverton

Crediton is by passed on what can be considered a ‘proper hill’ before continuing up and down through more beautiful Devon countryside to Yeoford and Hiittisleigh then upwards to Whiddon Down.

On the way to Whiddon Down

On the way to Whiddon Down

After about 50km I had settled into my own rhythm and speed and although I fleetingly came across other riders on the event – usually passing me at speed on a hill – I was happily trundling along enjoying the ride.

The mainly downhill section from Whiddon Down to Moretonhampstead was very pleasant and there were quite a few riders at The Bakery enjoying lunch in the sunshine.

Control at The Bakery in Moretonhamptead

Control at The Bakery in Moretonhamptead

At this point we had completed over half the distance but I was well aware that there were some challenging hills ahead as the route now headed straight across Dartmoor on the B3212 reaching a top elevation of 457m. Crossing Dartmoor obviously involves a lot of upwards but there are some lovely descents too and the scenery was fantastic in the sunshine.

P1040150

Beautiful Devon scenery

Beautiful Devon scenery on Dartmoor

Just before the B3212 reaches Yelverton we turned off for Burrator. There were a lot of people around here enjoying the lovely weather. I had incorrectly assumed that once across Dartmoor the hills would ease off. I was wrong – I found the steep rise from Sheepstor particularly gruelling but was encouraged by a round of applause from the occupants of a Range Rover who had kindly pulled aside to let me through on the narrow lane.

There was a lovely descent to Plympton but then more hills to the garage at Chaddlewood where there was a brief stop to buy some Smarties and more drinks.

The route then follows along beside the A38 through Ivybridge and then just before South Brent a brief dash down the dual carriageway followed by a fast section on the A385 before turning towards Staverton.

Staverton

Staverton Bridge

I hadn’t seen any other riders since Ivybridge and was very pleased to follow the track on my Garmin as from Staverton to Denbury the route follows narrow Devon lanes with many junctions. It would be quite hard to follow using just the route sheet but I just became lost in my own thoughts and enjoyed the scenic ride. I didn’t much enjoy what was to be the final steep hill up into Denbury and after 10 or so hours riding I was looking forward to getting off my bike.

After the lovely descent back into Newton Abbot I did get a bit lost finding my way back to the Pro Cycle Centre and was quite pleased when it was all over.

It was a long, hard ride. However, as I am quite busy doing other stuff in July and it was a good opportunity to get this months AAARTY and RRTY in one ride.

This entry was posted in Audax UK, Cycling, Devon on by .

About Barbara

I am a lifetime endurance athlete and seem to still have the motivation now that I am 61 years of age to get out there and be active and adventurous. I completed a full ironman distance triathlon in 14 hours a couple of months before my 60th birthday and the London Marathon 12 minutes inside the Good For Age time in April 2016. In June 2016 I won my age group at the Exmoor 70.3 Ironman event. Since then I have become less interested in competing and more interested in having fun. Running has become increasingly difficult and not so much fun so I am doing less of that. However, I still ride my bike at least 300 kilometres in a 'normal' week and swim, gym , yoga etc to keep up my fitness and health . Mountain biking became a new feature of my life in 2016 and with that came a new cycling buddy. A wonderful suprise - my husband! This has changed what we do with our time together and in June 2017 we enjoyed a tour of the west coast of Scotland and the Outer Hebrides together. Audax riding is still a regular feature and in June 2017 I completed 4 years of AAARTY.

2 thoughts on “Torplex 200km

  1. Kyle Hoondert

    Thanks for the nice write up – was nodding along in recognition, especially at the bit past Princetown. I thought that part would be easier! Glad you made it ’round (you mentioned at the start that you weren’t feeling 100%)

    Reply
    1. Barbara Post author

      Hi Kyle

      Sorry for the tardy reply, I’ve been away doing the 3 peaks with cycling between with my daughter..

      It turned out I wasn’t very well and woke up with a sore throat and cold on the Monday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

